Home > Vice-Chancellor's Desk

From the Vice-Chancellor's Desk                                          

Annamalai University, established in 1929, by The Annamalai University Act, 1929, is the only unitary, residential, multi-faculty University in the State of Tamil Nadu with 10 Faculties and 49 Departments of Study. Recently, the Government of Tamil Nadu enacted The Annamalai University Act -2013, to bring the University under its direct ambit.

The University, for the past 87 years, has crossed noteworthy milestones in the process of contributing to the cause of promoting higher education among the people for whom it would have remained a distant dream. The NAAC has accredited the University with ‘A’ Grade in 2014, which is a recent feather added to its cap.

At Annamalai, the curriculum is designed in line with the educational policies of the State and Central Government in order to addresses the global needs and at the same time striking a balance to serve the cause of national development and regional requirements. The syllabus is dynamic and constantly revamped to keep pace with the rapid developments.

A central library, besides faculty and departmental libraries caters to the quest for knowledge of thousands of students of varied disciplines. Medical Facilities for Students Teaching & Non-teaching Staff and facilities for Sports And Cultural Activity makes campus life secure, interesting and meaningful.

The University enjoys unstinted support from its alumni. Registered alumni associations exists and contribute generously to the growth of their Alma-Mater.

Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) plays a proactive role in reviewing the current status and evolve a system for conscious, consistent and catalytic improvement in the performance of the institution.